The NEW Home Run Derby

They have changed our the Home Run Derby format which after reading this seems quite complicated. I wonder if the players/fans are going to like this new format. All I know is it will definitely miss Giancarlo Stanton.

Thanks to for the article below.

Here’s how this year’s event will be structured:
Bracket format

• The Derby will operate as a single-elimination tournament in which the loser of each bracket is immediately eliminated.
• The seeding is based on 2015 home run totals through July 7, with ties broken by awarding the higher seed to the batter with more home runs hit since June 15. Any tie thereafter will be broken by a coin flip.
• In each bracket, the higher seed will hit second.
• In the first round, the matchups are the following: No. 1 vs. No. 8; No. 4 vs. No. 5; No. 2 vs. No. 7; and No. 3 vs. No. 6.
• In the second round, the winner of the No. 1 vs. No. 8 matchup will face the winner of the No. 4 vs. No. 5 matchup; and the No. 2 vs. No. 7 matchup winner will compete against the winner of the No. 3 vs. No. 6 matchup.
• The two second-round winners will meet in the third round to determine the Home Run Derby champion.

• Each batter receives five minutes per round. The timers start with the release of the first pitch.
• Any home runs hit during the final minute of each turn will stop the timer immediately; the timer will not start again until the batter hits a ball that is not a home run, or swings and misses at a pitch.

Bonus time
• One minute of bonus time will be awarded for two home runs that each equal or exceed 420 feet.
• Thirty seconds of bonus time will be awarded for one home run that equals or exceeds 475 feet.
• Both bonuses can be earned by hitting two home runs that equal or exceed 420 feet with one of them reaching 475 feet, resulting in a total bonus of one minute and 30 seconds.
• Distances will be tracked and posted using MLB Advanced Media’s Statcast.

• The batter with the most home runs hit in each match-up will advance to the next round.
• Ties in any round will be broken by a 90-second swing-off with no stoppage of time or additional time added; if a tie remain after the swing-off, the batters will engage in successive three-swing swing-offs until there is a winner.
• Once the second batter hits more than the first batter in any matchup, he will be declared the winner and not attempt to hit additional home runs.
• Each batter is entitled to one 45-second “timeout” per round.